News Story

How Great Thou Art: Gospel Favorites Live From The Grand Ole Opry In Stores February 5


CA Records Nashville and the Grand Ole Opry have come together to celebrate and showcase the amazing gospel music that is performed regularly at the Grand Ole Opry each year by country music’s biggest stars. This unique collection features twelve gospel songs recorded live at the Grand Ole Opry by artists including Trace Adkins, Dierks Bentley, Charlie Daniels Band with Mac Powell, Sara Evans, Vince Gill, Alan Jackson, Patty Loveless, Loretta Lynn, Ronnie Milsap, Brad Paisley, Ricky Skaggs and The Whites, and Carrie Underwood. How Great Thou Art: Gospel Favorites Live From The Grand Ole Opry will be released on February 5, 2008 on RCA Records.

“When I was asked to be a part of this project, I wanted to choose a classic song that had stood the test of time,” shares Carrie Underwood. “I wanted a standard gospel song that has really touched people.”

How Great Thou Art features standard gospel classics including “I’ll Fly Away,” “Give Me Jesus,” “Old Rugged Cross,” and “How Great Thou Art,” among others. Many country artists grew up singing in church as their first experience with music, so being a part of this project is a natural fit for many of today’s country music stars.

“I grew up singing gospel tunes right out of the hymnal at our church,” explains Sara Evans. “Historically, gospel music has played a large part in the Grand Ole Opry and I am very honored to be a part of this album.”

Track Listing:
1. I’ll Fly Away – Charlie Daniels Band/Mac Powell
2. Blessed Assurance – Alan Jackson
3. Precious Memories – Patty Loveless
4. Precious Lord, Take My Hand – Ronnie Milsap
5. Family Bible – Ricky Skaggs/The Whites
6. Just A Closer Walk With Thee – Sara Evans
7. The Old Rugged Cross – Brad Paisley
8. Wayfaring Stranger – Trace Adkins
9. Where No One Stands Alone – Loretta Lynn
10. Give Me Jesus – Vince Gill
11. A House Of Gold – Dierks Bentley
12. How Great Thou Art – Carrie Underwood

Related Stories: News